

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race®

2100 South Knik Goose Bay Road • Wasilla, Alaska 99654 907.376.5155 (voice) • 907.373.6998 (facsimile) www.iditarod.com

PRESS RELEASE

For further information contact: Stan Hooley, CEO - (907) 352-2204 or shooley@iditarod.com

62 MUSHERS ENTER IDITAROD XLIV ON OPENING DAY FOR ENTRIES

Wasilla, Alaska – (Saturday, June 27, 2015) – Thirty-seven mushers were on hand today at Iditarod Headquarters in Wasilla to officially enter Iditarod XLIV. Another 25 entered by mail.

Of the 62 opening day entries, 10 are rookies, readying themselves for their first Iditarod challenge. Eight teams (Norway - 4, Canada – 3, and Sweden – 1) hail from countries outside the U.S.A. Eight states, other than Alaska (Alabama, Oklahoma, New York, Illinois, Michigan, Idaho, Montana and Minnesota) are represented.

Current and three-time Champion Dallas Seavey, four-time Champions Jeff King and Martin Buser, two-time Champions Robert Sorlie and Mitch Seavey, along with a talented group of top finishers promise to make the 44th running of the Iditarod every bit as competitive as any race in history.

The Iditarod also paid tribute to the hundreds of volunteers who were on hand by hosting the annual Volunteer Appreciation Picnic. Lunch was catered by race sponsor Golden Corral, and fresh sockeye salmon was flown in from Bristol Bay by race sponsor PenAir.

Race veterans DeeDee Jonrowe of Willow, Alaska, and Ellen Halverson of Wasilla, won their \$3,000 entry fees back in a final drawing that marked the end of the Volunteer Appreciation Picnic.

Mushers have until the close of business on Tuesday, December 1, to enter. It is expected that the starting field will approach 80 teams.

Following is a list of mushers in order of their draw to be held during the Mushers Banquet on Thursday, March 3, 2016.

Draw #	Last	First	City	State	Country	Status
I	Moore	Allen	Two Rivers	Alaska	USA	Veteran
2	Steves	Jan	Willow	Alaska	USA	Veteran
3	Pettersson	Mats	Kiruna		Sweden	Veteran
4	Beall	Patrick	Norman	Oklahoma	USA	Rookie
5	Santos	Mike	Cantwell	Alaska	USA	Veteran
6	Halverson	Ellen	Wasilla	Alaska	USA	Veteran
7	Seavey	Mitch	Seward	Alaska	USA	Champion
8	King	Jeff	Denali	Alaska	USA	Champion
9	Casillo	Rick	Big Lake	Alaska	USA	Veteran
10	Norris	Lisbet	Willow	Alaska	USA	Veteran
11	Sass	Brent	Eureka	Alaska	USA	Veteran
12	Cooke	Rob	Whitehorse		Canada	Veteran
13	Beals	Travis	Seward	Alaska	USA	Veteran
14	Olsen	Dag	Hammerfest		Norway	Rookie
15	Pace	Kristin Knight	Healy	Alaska	USA	Rookie
16	Buser	Martin	Big Lake	Alaska	USA	Champion
17	Bailey	Jodi	Chatanika	Alaska	USA	Veteran
18	Strathe	Cody	Fairbanks	Alaska	USA	Rookie
19	Kaiser	Pete	Bethel	Alaska	USA	Veteran
20	Maixner	Kelly	Big Lake	Alaska	USA	Veteran
21	Marrs	Wade	Willow	Alaska	USA	Veteran
22	Smyth	Cim	Big Lake	Alaska	USA	Veteran
23	Seavey	Dallas	Willow	Alaska	USA	Champion
24	Barnes	Seth	Stockton	Alabama	USA	Veteran
25	Buser	Rohn	Big Lake	Alaska	USA	Veteran
26	Jonrowe	DeeDee	Willow	Alaska	USA	Veteran
27	Lanier	Jim	Chugiak	Alaska	USA	Veteran
28	Olson	Ryne	Two Rivers	Alaska	USA	Veteran
29	Ulsom	Joar Leifseth	Willow	Alaska	USA	Veteran
30	Helwig	Mary	Willow	Alaska	USA	Rookie
31	Royer	Jesse	Darby	Montana	USA	Veteran
32	Moore	Becca	Willow	Alaska	USA	Veteran
33	Zappa	Monica	Kasilof	Alaska	USA	Veteran
34	Petit	Nicolas	Girdwood	Alaska	USA	Veteran
35	Berington	Anna	Knik	Alaska	USA	Veteran
36	Zirkle	Aily	Two Rivers	Alaska	USA	Veteran
37	Janssen	Scott	Anchorage	Alaska	USA	Veteran
38	Sorlie	Robert	Hurdal		Norway	Champion
39	Savidis	Justin	Willow	Alaska	USA	Veteran
40	Campeau	Jason	Alberta	British Columbia	Canada	Veteran

41	Diehl	Richie	Aniak	Alaska	USA	Veteran
42	Bogart	Gwenn	Wasilla	Alaska	USA	Rookie
43	Herbst	Trent	Ketchum	Idaho	USA	Veteran
44	Burmeister	Noah	Nenana	Alaska	USA	Veteran
45	Ekran	Sigrid	Alvdal		Norway	Veteran
46	Bacon	Kristin	Big Lake	Alaska	USA	Rookie
47	Redington	Robert	Wasilla	Alaska	USA	Rookie
48	Schroeder	Nathan	Chisholm	Minnesota	USA	Veteran
49	Williams Jr.	Michael	Akiak	Alaska	USA	Veteran
50	Pereira	Noah	Brockport	New York	USA	Rookie
51	Bejna	Charley	Addison	Illinois	USA	Veteran
52	Albrigtson	Tore	Tromso		Norway	Veteran
53	Stielstra	Ed	McMillan	Michigan	USA	Veteran
54	Redington	Ryan	Knik	Alaska	USA	Veteran
55	Bundtzen	Robert	Anchorage	Alaska	USA	Veteran
56	Phillips	Michelle	Whitehorse	Yukon Territory	Canada	Veteran
57	Gebhardt	Paul	Kasilof	Alaska	USA	Veteran
58	Fiedler	Linwood	Willow	Alaska	USA	Veteran
59	Reitan	Ketiel	Kaktovik	Alaska	USA	Veteran
60	Redington	Ray	Knik	Alaska	USA	Veteran
61	Daugherty	Larry	Eagle River	Alaska	USA	Rookie
62	Eischens	Alan	Wasilla	Alaska	USA	Veteran

Complete archival race information is available <u>here</u>.

Iditarod XLIV will get underway at 10:00 a.m. on Saturday, March 5, 2016, in downtown Anchorage at the corner of 4^{th} Avenue and D Street.

- end -